Search your topic here

Testing Levels

Testing Levels:


Click here to view on YouTube
There are various testing levels in software engineering, which are as follows:

  1. Unit Testing
  2. Integration Testing
  3. System Testing
  4. Big Bang Integration testing
  5. Top Down Integration testing
  6. Bottom Up Integration testing
  7. Mixed Integration testing
  8. Alpha testing
  9. Beta testing
  10. Acceptance testing
  11. Performance testing
  12. Stress testing
  13. Volume testing
  14. Configuration testing
  15. Compatibility testing
  16. Regression testing
  17. Recovery testing
  18. Maintenance testing
  19. Documentation testing
  20. Usability testing, etc.
Above testing are categorized as below:

Testing Levels in Software Testing:
  1. Unit Testing
  2. Integration Testing
  3. System Testing

1. Unit Testing:
  • Follows a white box testing.
  • Tests each module individually.
  • Performed by developers.

2. Integration Testing:
  • Integration testing can be a ‘black box testing’ or ‘white box testing’.
  • After ‘unit testing’, integration testing is performed
  • It is a systematic testing.
  • Produces tests to identify errors associated with interfacing.
  • Types are:
    • Big Bang Integration testing
    • Top Down Integration testing
    • Bottom Up Integration testing
    • Mixed Integration testing

3. System Testing:
  • System is tested to find requirement errors.
  • Verifies that all system elements work properly,overall system function and performance has been achieved.
  • Types are:
    • Alpha testing
    • Beta testing
    • Acceptance testing
    • Performance testing

Alpha Testing:
  • It is carried out by the test team within the developing organization.

Beta Testing:
  • It is performed by a selected group of users, customers, or users other than development team.

Acceptance Testing:
  • It is performed by the customer to determine whether software is acceptable or not by the user.

Performance Testing:
  • It is carried out to check whether the system meets the nonfunctional requirements identified in the SRS document.
  • Types are:
    • Stress testing
    • Volume testing
    • Configuration testing
    • Compatibility testing
    • Regression testing
    • Recovery testing
    • Maintenance testing
    • Documentation testing
    • Usability testing