Search your topic here

Integrity Constraints

RGPV: DBMS: Unit 2
Integrity Constraint:-
It is the mechanism or condition used to prevent invalid data entry into the relation (table). It applies rules on the table.
Three types of integrity contraints are-
<![if !supportLists]> (1)   <![endif]> Domain integrity constraint :- Set a range on any relation that will prevent the user from performing any invalid manipulation.
They are of two types:-
<![if !supportLists]> (i)                 <![endif]> NOT NULL: Not allow null values
<![if !supportLists]> (ii)               <![endif]> CHECK:  Specify condition that each tuple must satisfy.
<![if !supportLists]> (2)   <![endif]> Entity Integrity Constraints: Applies on relation or table.
They are of two types:
<![if !supportLists]> (i)                 <![endif]> UNIQUE: Prevent duplicate values, allow NULL values
<![if !supportLists]> (ii)               <![endif]> PRIMARY KEY: Prevent duplicate values, don’t allow null values
<![if !supportLists]> (3)   <![endif]> Referential Integrity Constraint: Applies condition in two tables.
<![if !supportLists]> (i)                 <![endif]> FOREING KEY: Tuples in the referencing relation R1 have attribute (Foreign key attribute) that reference the primary key attribute of the referenced relation R2.


Related topics

Please use contact page in this website if you find anything incorrect or you want to share more information about the topic discussed above.